More Information

Monique Edwards (Media Office): 9035 3372/ 0412 975 350,

Clemmie Wetherall (Media Office): 9035 3372/ 0400 258 165,

Sixty-eight of Victoria’s highest achieving VCE students have accepted National Scholarships to study at Australia’s number one university, the University of Melbourne next year.

To be eligible for the scholarships students need to receive an ATAR or equivalent of 99.9 or above following the release of VCE results this morning.

University of Melbourne Vice-Chancellor Professor Glyn Davis congratulated the National Scholars on their success.

“The University is delighted to be able to give all these outstanding students the opportunity to study in a challenging academic environment. Their presence at Melbourne can only enrich our academic community.”

The Melbourne National Scholarship provides students with a HECS exempt Commonwealth Supported Place in one of the University’s undergraduate degrees and a $5000 annual allowance for the duration of their degree.  

Recipients receive a guarantee of entry into the graduate course of their choice.

Scholars from interstate also receive a HECS exempt place as well as an annual allowance of $10,000 over the duration of the degree.

The University of Melbourne is ranked number one in Australia and 34 in the world, according to the 2013 Times Higher Education World University Rankings.


This year’s Melbourne National Scholars are:

Aaron Ch’Ng – Scotch College

Aaron Ng - Balwyn High School

Alana Ryan – Ballarat Clarendon College

Alex Kwong – Balwyn High School

Alexander Kilner – Trinity Grammar School

Alice Yu – Methodist Ladies College

Amy Yang – Haileybury Girls College

Anuj Krishna – Melbourne High School

Benjamin Stefano – Melbourne Grammar School

Bernadette Toohey – Sacre Coeur

Betty Xiong – Ruyton Girls School

Cameron Doig       - Camberwell Grammar School

Caroline Ritchie – Methodist Ladies College

Chen Qian – Brighton Grammar School

Chenkan Wang – Melbourne High School

Chiara Dogliotti – Haileybury Girls College

Cuong Duong – Melbourne High School

David Liu – Camberwell Grammar School

Denzil Furtado –Xavier College

Dudu Yang – University High School

Elijah Martin – Trinity Grammar School

Elton Lee – Scotch College

Emily Feng-Gu – Caulfield Grammar School – Caulfield Campus

Eric Xie – Melbourne High School

Feliks Zemdegs – St Kevin's College Toorak

Hong Ky Ho – Melbourne High School

Ilana Cherny – Mount Scopus Memorial College

Jack Marozzi – University High School

James Gunn – Xavier College

James Ha – Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School

James Maccarrone – St Kevin’s College Toorak

James Mistarz - Vermont Secondary College

Jang-Ho Weon – John Monash Science School

Jarrod Brice – Mildura Senior College

Jasun Li – Melbourne Grammar School

Jenny Luu – Mac. Robertson Girls High School

Jeremy Teow – Camberwell Grammar School

Jessica Min – Mac.Robertson Girls High School

Jessica Tan – Mac.Robertson Girls High School

Jiani Chen – Mac.Robertson Girls High School

Jordan Santucci – Melbourne Grammar School

Joshua Zail - Mount Scopus Memorial College

Joyce Tan – Mac.Robertson Girls High School

Justin Lee – Scotch College

Kina Lin-Wilmoth – Caulfield Grammar School – Caulfield Campus

Lauren Yip – Ruyton Girls School

Maxim Cave – Melbourne Grammar School

Mei Ying Ho – John Monash Science School

Michael Zhan – Scotch College

Michelle Foo – Mac.Robertson Girls High School

Mihika Upadhyaya – Mac. Robertson Girls High School

Milly Bishop – Camberwell Anglican Girls Grammar School

Natalie Perera – Mac.Robertson Girls High School

Nicholas Liu – Scotch College

Nicholas Lucarelli – Camberwell Grammar School

Nishat Siddique – Melbourne Girls Grammar

Raja Noureddine – Haileybury College

Roshan Selvaratnam – Melbourne Grammar School

Saba Gul – Sirius College

Saskia Holloway – St Catherine’s School

Sheryl Ding – Kingswood College

Stephen Ciavarella – De La Salle College

Thomas Crowley – Xavier College

Thomas Ferretto – Xavier College

Timothy Crowe – St Patrick’s College

Tsu Han Goh – Camberwell Grammar School

Victor Lin – Melbourne Grammar School

Zhi Xuen Low – Presbyterian Ladies College