Eminent Australian musicologist, critic and author Roger Covell will receive the 2013 Sir Bernard Heinze Memorial Award for his outstanding contribution to music in Australia.

The annual award from the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music and the Friends of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (MSO) will be presented to Professor Covell on Saturday 16 February at the MSO’s Beethoven and Bartók concert in the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.
Melbourne Conservatorium of Music director Professor Gary McPherson said Roger Covell’s commitment to Australian music has been "second to none".
"His dedication to chronicling Australia’s orchestral, operatic, chamber, choral, folk and contemporary music ensemble performances constitute a modern history in the growth and development of classical music culture in Australia," he said.
"He is a worthy recipient of this award."
Professor Roger Covell AM FAHA is a former National President of both the Musicological Society of Australia and the Australian Society for Music Education, and was the Sydney Morning Herald's principal music critic from 1960 until early 2002, a role that earned him the Geraldine Pascall Prize.
Professor Covell completed his doctoral studies in early baroque opera. He wrote a major account of creative achievements in Australian music in his book Australia’s Music: Themes of a New Society, published in 1967. He has edited and arranged the earliest Australian musical play, Edward Geoghegan's The Currency Lass. He is currently Professor Emeritus in the School of Performing Arts and Media at the University of New South Wales, where his activities have included operatic and choral-orchestral conducting, composing and arranging, musical direction of UNSW Opera, co-founding the Australia Ensemble and the publication of ongoing research in opera, baroque music and Australian music.
Sir Bernard Heinze was one of the major pioneers of orchestral musical life in Australia and Ormond Professor of Music at the University of Melbourne for 31 years.
In honour of his memory, the Sir Bernard Heinze Memorial Award is made annually to a person who has made ‘an outstanding contribution to music in Australia’.
Recipients of the prestigious Bernard Heinze award include Maestro Richard Bonynge, composer Carl Vine, pianist Stephen McIntyre, singer Yvonne Kenny, composer Peter Sculthorpe, conductor John Hopkins, horn player Barry Tuckwell, violinist Richard Tognetti, conductor and composer Brett Dean, conductor Simone Young and music educator Sir Frank Callaway. 

Photo opportunity
Roger Covell with Gary McPherson and MSO Friends

  • Saturday 16 February, 2013
  • Time, by arrangement
  • Sidney Myer Music Bowl

 High resolution portrait images are also available.