Media ReleasesSubscribe to Media Releases

Cities Alliance head and former United Nations settlements expert William Cobbett will share his perspective on the challenges of urbanization in the next Melbourne School of Design Dean’s Lecture for 2010. 

The University of Melbourne will offer the country’s first professional entry masters level course in Medicine as part of its newly designed suite of graduate degrees in medicine, dentistry and physiotherapy.

The University of Melbourne has a range of academic experts available to comment on the 2010 budget announcements. 

Two short films by classmates from the School of Film & TV at the University of Melbourne’s VCA and Music (VCAM) are the only Australian films to have been selected for competition at this year’s Cannes Film Festival, it was announced this week.

Melting sea ice has been shown to be a major cause of warming in the Arctic according to a University of Melbourne study.

The University of Melbourne, Alcatel-Lucent’s research arm, Bell Labs, and the State Government today launched a $10 million Centre for Energy-Efficient Telecommunications (CEET). The centre, to be based at the University, will focus on increasing the energy efficiency of networks and technologies.

The philanthropist and Jewish community leader Richard Pratt will be honoured with an honorary Doctor of Philosophy degree by Hebrew University of Jerusalem’s President, Professor Menahem Ben-Sasson, during the 2010 Pratt Memorial Oration this Thursday, 29 April.

One of the University of Melbourne’s most successful music graduates, Benjamin Northey, is returning to conduct the University’s Symphony Orchestra in concert at the Melbourne Town Hall tomorrow Wednesday 28 April at 7.30pm.

Australian businesses will need to engage in sustainability reporting in the future to remain competitive, according to a new report.

Leading Australian architecture firm Jackson Architecture – behind such designs as the MCG’s Southern Stand and the Sydney Conservatorium of Music – will exhibit at the first Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning’s ‘Alumni Retrospective Series’ for 2010.